The Historical Museum of Tracadie presents three main exhibitions on the work of the Religieuses hospitalières de St-Joseph who arrived in Tracadie in 1868.
The Lazaret - «A Story of Compassion»
The Tracadie leprosy opened its doors in 1849. Before then, people suffering from leprosy were sent to Sheldrake Island in the Miramichi.
The lazaret was relocated in Tracadie thanks to the efforts of Father F.X. Lafrance who wanted the lepers to be closer to their families to avoid isolation and consequently help alleviate their suffering.
In 1868, the Religieuses hospitalières de St-Joseph from the Hôtel-Dieu de Montréal agreed to come to Tracadie to take care of the lepers. In 1880, the lazaret became a federal jurisdiction and the nuns became the official caretakers of the establishment.
The last leper died in 1964 and the following year, the lazaret closed its doors for good.
During the 121 years of care to the lepers, some were cured and released, others died from their disease and still rest in four different cemeteries, one of which was solely for the burial of lepers.
Health Care - « An Epic of Charity »
It all started with the health care at the leprosy and continued with the general hospital that became l’Hôtel-Dieu St-Joseph until 1991. Thus, the work of the nuns was fulfilled in the entire region.
In the permanent exhibition, you will discover objects from the first pharmacy established by the nuns that they brought with them in 1868, some instruments from the Hôtel-Dieu which was destroyed by fire in 1943 as well as some from the one that was demolished in 1991. Numerous photos are also part of this exhibition.